European Magpie (Pica pica)

 


Magpie

Originally uploaded by bill kralovec

I photographed this magpie in flight at my HS campus in October of 2008. The magpie is the third of the crow species that one sees often in Belgrade. They are not as common as the Hooded Crow, but I see them daily. They are loud and aggressive and a bit more elusive to photograph than the other crows.

The magpie is territorial, but I haven’t been attacked by one yet. In Australia several Australian Magpies have swooped at me, even one pecking my helmet as I was biking. I’ll have to see during the nesting season in the spring. I also hope to get a better photo of the species.

There are many superstitions regarding the magpie. In England, one is supposed to salute it, and a single magpie means death. In China they are considered lucky.

 

Across the street from our house

Across the street from our house

One thought on “European Magpie (Pica pica)

Leave a Reply

