Eurasian Jay (Garrulus glandarius)


Eurasian Jay

Originally uploaded by bill kralovec

I photographed this Eurasian Jay on a bike ride on Tuesday at Ada Ciganlija. I have seen Jays several times on our high school campus and in our suburb of Senjak. Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera with me. I only managed to get this photo, but hope to get a better one soon.

The Eurasian Jay has a huge geographical range from Europe through Africa to Asia. The Jay is the most colorful member of the Crow family. It is known for its ability to mimic sounds and its hoarding of acorns. It is a shy bird and as it loses its habitat, it is moving more towards urban areas.

More later, kids are up and ready to open the presents!

Leave a Reply

