Great Spotted Woodpecker Nest

Walking home from school today I had a pleasant surprise. While walking through Haid Park I heard a loud chirping sound. As I investigated, I saw the sound

A Great Spotted Woodpecker Nest

A Great Spotted Woodpecker Nest

was coming from a hole in the tree. Waiting a few more seconds, I saw a mother Great Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major) cautiously checking me out. She was probably wonder what this large human was doing so close to her babies. I snapped a few photos and walked down the path. As I was leaving, I saw the mother fly up to the hole and enter. I wonder if she had some food for the little guys. Woodpeckers lay 4-7 eggs and they make a new hole each year. The nest was about 15 feet above the ground. It must take a lot of work to make a hole that big. Amazing.

A Protective Mother

A Protective Mother

I did a previous post on the Great Spotted Woodpecker.

Leave a Reply

