Lesser Black-backed Gull (Larus fuscus)

Photographed on Banks of Sava River - Belgrade August 2008

This is another immature gull that I can now identify with my “Birds of Britain” guidebook. They are another of the gull species that have benefited from human habitation. They are found all throughout Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Black Sea. This is a juvenile. The adults have yellow beaks with a red spot on the end of the bill.

I have only noticed juvenile gulls at the Sava. I wonder why this is, or am I incorrectly identifying the birds? Any readers who know their gulls or the area, please let me know how I am doing.

This is the 18th species of bird I have identified in Belgrade.

Leave a Reply

