Nuthatch (Sitta europaea)

A Nuthatch High In a Park Tree

This nuthatch caught my attention this morning (March 7, 2010) on a run in Topčider Park. I saw the orange flash of its belly and I watched it go from the tree to a bush just under the tree several times. They are similar to woodpeckers in that they use their bill to to hammer into bark to dislodge food. They are a resident bird and stay all winter. They are supposed to stay in the same area all year so I’ll keep an eye on this little guy and see if it is there when I run through the park. It is on one of my regular running routes.

It is known as a Brgljezi in Serbian.

Leave a Reply

