European Hedgehog (Erinaceus europaeus)

My intention of this post and the next is not to offend or sicken my readers. It is sad that so many animals are victims of road kill. It is one of the hazards of urban or suburban living for wild creatures. I hope these posts will get readers to drive slower and take more care when driving, especially at night.

Last month I was driving the babysitter home and on the way to her house, we spotted this European Hedgehog that was recently killed by an auto. This is the second time I’ve seen them dead in the road. They are very cute and some people in Belgrade have them as pets. They are omnivores and people actually attract them to their gardens by setting out cat food. They take care of a lot of pests.

I hope to photograph a live specimen before I leave Europe. I can see the appeal of them.

Leave a Reply

