Hummingbird Hawk-moth (Macroglossum stellatarum)

They are tough to photograph, but I did get a decent photo of a Hummingbird Hawk-moth feeding in our school garden this week. I’ve been watching it come out the past couple of days and I finally had my camera to try to take a photo. You can go to the Science Ray website for some clearer photos.

They do look like tiny hummingbirds, but when I looked it up in the Birds of Britain and Europe guide, it confirmed that I knew there were no hummingbirds in Europe. They behave similiarly to hummingbirds, and are quite fast fliers. They have a black and white tail band. An amazing moth and I hope to see more of this species.

One thought on “Hummingbird Hawk-moth (Macroglossum stellatarum)

Leave a Reply

