First Signs of Spring in Belgrade

The Common Primrose (first rose – Primula vulgaris) announces that spring (proleće) has arrived in Belgrade. The garden in our new apartment was full of them. I learned in my research that the Primrose was former UK Prime Minister Ben Disraeli’s favorite flower and he founded the Primrose League as a conservative political party. I also read that they were edible so of course Owen, Oliver, and I had to try them. They tasted like lettuce.
I’ll be blogging a lot more with the spring flowers as I usually do. It was a long, quiet winter for me on the nature scene.

Our yard is blooming with Primroses

W

Leave a Reply

