Redstart (Phoenicurus phoenicurus)

I photographed this Redstart last weekend from my back balcony. There are two (I will not say “a pair” of…) Great Tits making a nest in the rain gutter of my apartment building. My balcony is just meters above them and I watch them every morning, flying in and out of the nest. Last Saturday, this Redstart was chasing them and creating quite a flurry of activity.

It is nice to have redstarts around the neighborhood. They are a species that prefers big, old trees and it is good that there are enough old trees near our apartment to support them. They are a migrant and fly south of Africa for the winter. I’ll keep an eye of them this summer and see how long they stay in Belgrade.

 

Leave a Reply

