Common Bluebottle Butterfly

I photographed this Common Bluebottle Butterfly (Graphium sarpedon) last Sunday while on a run with my family. I noticed a dead specimen (picture below) on the sidewalk and a live specimen hovering around it. The live specimen allowed me to photograph it quite close with my iPhone. There seemed to be some liquid on the ground they were attracted to. The dead specimen looked like it got run over by a car, as it was on the exit path of a gas station.

The bluebottle has a large distribution in Asia and there are sixteen subspecies. They are known for their quick flight and are supposed to be difficult to catch, so I was fortunate to be able to photograph it with my phone. They are swallowtail butterflies, a family with swallow-like, forked hind wings. In Australia, they are known as the Blue Triangle.

Leave a Reply

