Final January Birding Observations

24423851940_0e3604d473_z

Since I enjoyed my ride so much on Saturday, I decided to take another ride on Sunday morning along the river. The sun was out today and I photographed several new species to add to my bird list. Above is a blue rockthrush (Monticola solitarius). This is a year round resident of Japan with a wide spread world range. It is the national bird of Malta.

24091200874_7479f8dd8a_z

This little egret (Egretta garzetta) was moving around rocks with its bill to stir prey and walking elegantly in the middle of the stream. I wanted to capture its yellow feet which contrast with the black legs.

24601552052_46b0316118_z

The great egret (Egretta alba) summers in Korea, China and into Siberia, but some winter in southern Honshu. This big bird was definitely not afraid of me while I photographed it. Interesting that its bill is yellow in the winter and turns grey/black in the breeding season.

I also photographed a juvenile common gallinule and an Eurasian jay. Along my bike ride I saw many pairs of spot-billed ducks, green-winged teals, and common pochards. The two mornings of birding took my total number of species to 24!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

