Clouded Monitor

31784758936_f25f898926_c

We spotted this clouded monitor lizard (Varanus nebulosus) on our hike yesterday. It was about 70 cm long and foraging for insects through the leaf litter on the side of the trail. I managed to snap a couple of photos with my iPhone before it slipped away through the forest and down the hill. They can grow up to 1.5 meters and are adept tree climbers. Earlier in the day we spotted the darker, Malaysian Water monitor lizard along side the reservoir while Oliver and I were kayaking.

Since my telephoto lens was scratched, I have not been posting much on my nature blog. I hope to get a new lens when I return to Japan in late January and do more nature blogging.

30981499294_1faafd4507_z

I photographed this beautiful Dwarf Poinciana (Caesalpinia pulcherrima) in the gardens of the Mac Ritchie Reservoir park. I love tropical garden plants and I remember the dwarf poinciana from my many years in Latin America. It goes by many names, like the Pride of Barbados where it is the national flower. It is native to the Caribbean islands and tropical Latin America. This legume looks like a miniature version of the Flamboyant or Royal Poinciana tree, but it is a distant relative.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

