Eastern Towhee

35608294476_bb2b9a2266_c

In a jet-lagged stupor after a 16-hour flight, I went for a walk on some ATV trails near the town of Freeland, Pennsylvania this morning. This large sparrow, an Eastern Towhee (Pipilo erythrophthalmus), caught my attention. It took me awhile, but I managed to get a couple of photos through the bushes. The Towhee was in its preferred habitat, a disturbed, successional growth area. They are found all throughout eastern North America, from Quebec to Florida.

I didn’t hear the two-part call which it gets its name, but I did record the one-note call in the video below.

Eastern Towhee

It was a nice start to my nature observations in America this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

